Eau Claire School Board Minutes Monday, May 6, 2024, 7:00 p.m. Blended Model – ECASD Administration Building and Livestream *Generated by Terri Grzyb*

Members present

Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Jarrett Dement, Stephanie Farrar, Marquell Johnson, Tim Nordin

Members absent

Erica Zerr

CONVENE (GC-1)

Superintendent Mike Johnson called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Board Secretary Terri Grzyb confirmed the meeting had been properly noticed and was in compliance with the Open Meeting Law. A roll call was conducted to verify quorum. Bria F. from Sam Davey Elementary School led the Pledge of Allegiance.

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

NOMINATION & ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS

Superintendent Mike Johnson led the Organizational Meeting.

Election of President

Stephanie Farrar nominated Tim Nordin as President, second by Lori Bica. Tim Nordin accepted the nomination. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Election of Vice President

Stephanie Farrar nominated Lori Bica as Vice President, second by Joshua Clements. Lori Bica accepted the nomination. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Election of Clerk/Governance Officer

Jarrett Dement nominated Stephanie Farrar as Clerk/Governance Officer, second by Lori Bica. Stephanie Farrar accepted the nomination. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Election of Clerk Designee

Joshua Clements nominated Abby Johnson as Clerk Designee, second by Jarrett Dement. Abby Johnson accepted the nomination. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Election of Treasurer

Tim Nordin nominated Joshua Clements as Treasurer, second by Jarrett Dement. Joshua Clements accepted the nomination. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Election of Secretary

Jarrett Dement nominated Terri Grzyb as Secretary, second by Joshua Clements. Terri Grzyb accepted the nomination. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

SEATING ARRANGEMENT

Board members drew numbers for the seating arrangement for future meetings.

ADJOURNMENT OF ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Motion by Stephanie Farrar, second by Josh Clements to adjourn the organizational meeting.

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Jarrett Dement, Stephanie Farrar, Marquell Johnson, Tim Nordin

ADOPTION OF AGENDA (GC-2)

Motion by Jarrett Dement, second by Joshua Clements to adopt the Board agenda for May 6, 2024.

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Jarrett Dement, Stephanie Farrar, Marquell Johnson, Tim Nordin

RECOGNITION (R-1)

Superintendent Johnson recognized School Principals' Day, National Teacher/School Staff Appreciation Week, National School Nurse Day, National Asian America and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, National Mental Health Awareness Month, and Northwood Elementary for Kind Citizens.

PUBLIC FORUM (GC-2.3c)

Mark Goings spoke about the upcoming referendum.

REPORTS

Commissioner Johnson provided a Referendum Committee report. The committee met on Friday (May 3) to preview the community survey results.

SUPERINTENDENT'S CONSENT AGENDA (GC-2.5)

Motion by Joshua Clements, second by Jarrett Dement to approve the following Superintendent's Consent Agenda items:

- Human Resources Employment Report
- Cash balances by financial institution as of March 31, 2024
- Financial Report March 2024
- Payment of all bills in the amount of \$7,441,284.74 and net payroll in the amount of \$8,216,262.20 for the period of March 1, 2024, through March 31, 2024
- Gifts in the amount of \$14,369.94 for the period of March 1, 2024, through March 31, 2024
- WIAA Membership Renewal for 2024-2025
- Meal Prices for 2024-2025
- Final Notice of Non-Renewal of Teachers with Limited Term Contracts
- Authorization to the Executive Director of Business Services for Summer Months
- Alternative Education Program

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Jarrett Dement, Stephanie Farrar, Marquell Johnson, Tim Nordin

BOARD'S CONSENT AGENDA (GC-2.5)

Motion by Joshua Clements, second by Lori Bica to approve the following Board Consent Agenda Items:

- Minutes of Board Meeting April 15, 2024
- Board Summary Statement for OE-8 Communication with the Board
- Board Summary Statement for OE-12 Facilities

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Jarrett Dement, Stephanie Farrar, Marquell Johnson, Tim Nordin

BOARD DEVELOPMENT

Don Lifto from The Morris Leatherman Company presented the results from the community survey. 400 interviews were completed from April 2-16. The survey consisted of 35 questions with a margin of error of +/- 4.9%. Demographic targets included age, gender, parent status, voting history, and geographic area. Initial support for a funding increase was 56% favor (uninformed benchmark). Informed support for a funding increase was 58.7%. Demographic differences were shown, as well as the impact of cost for \$150, \$200, \$250, and \$300. Additional items examined were the effects of state funding, grading of the District, community perceptions of the District, and tax aversion. Don's presentation concluded with a summary of the survey's findings. Abby Johnson, Executive Director of Business Service, also shared

information that included evaluating various referendum amounts and wording ideas for the referendum question. Discussion and questions followed.

Motion by Marquell Johnson, second by Stephanie Farrar to recommend that the Referendum Committee develop a non-recurring referendum question. No discussion on motion.

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Stephanie Farrar, Marquell Johnson, Tim Nordin No: Jarrett Dement

Motion by Marquell Johnson, second by Joshua Clements to recommend that the Referendum Committee explore ranges from \$16-18 million for low-end referendum support to \$20-21 million for highend referendum support. Discussion on motion.

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Jarrett Dement, Stephanie Farrar, Marquell Johnson, Tim Nordin

BOARD DEBRIEF (GC-2.3)

Commissioner Farrar reminded Board Members to fill out the survey in the Board Debrief.

ADJOURN

Motion by Jarrett Dement, second by Joshua Clements to adjourn meeting.

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Jarrett Dement, Stephanie Farrar, Marquell Johnson, Tim Nordin

Meeting adjourned at 8:52 p.m.