Eau Claire Board of Education Monday, October 24, 2016

Generated by Patti Iverson

Members present

Carolyn Barstad, Kathryn P Duax, Jennifer Fager, Chris Hambuch-Boyle, Aaron Harder (arrived at 5:15 p.m.), Joe Luginbill, Charles Vue

Following the Pledge of Allegiance, President Hambuch-Boyle called the meeting to order at 5 p.m. Board Secretary Patti Iverson confirmed that the meeting had been properly noticed and was in compliance with the Open Meeting Law.

1. UPDATE ON FINAL CHANGES IN THE 2016-2017 BUDGET

Abby Johnson, Executive Director of Business Services, presented two updated versions of the 2016-2017 budget; one that is referendum dependent and the other that is not.

The final equalized state aid for the non-referendum budget is \$58,117,093 (50.8%) and final property tax is \$56,191,818 (49.2%). The total revenues by fund for 2016-17 would be \$146,215,494. Ms. Johnson said that the change in tax rate for the non-referendum budget would show a decrease of 55 cents per \$1,000 of equalized property value.

The final equalized state aid for the referendum budget is \$58,117,093 (48.4%) and final property tax is \$62,051,818 (51.6%). The total revenues by fund for 2016-17 would be \$152,075,494. Ms. Johnson said that the change in tax rate for the referendum budget would show an increase of 37 cents per \$1,000 of equalized property value.

The fund balance should the referendum pass would be \$37,969,867 and if it does not pass, it would be \$32,109,867.

2. PUBLIC HEARING ON THE 2016-2017 EAU CLAIRE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT BUDGET

No one was present to address the School Board.

3. ADJOURN TO SPECIAL MEETING

4. INDIVIDUALLY CONSIDERED RESOLUTION

4.1 Adoption of the 2016-2017 ECASD Budget

Motion by Aaron Harder, second by Kathryn P Duax, that the Board of Education adopt the 2016-17 Recommended Budgets as modified, one that is referendum dependent and one that is not.

Motion carried

Yes: Carolyn Barstad, Kathryn P Duax, Jennifer Fager, Chris Hambuch-Boyle, Aaron Harder, Joe Luginbill, Charles Vue

Motion by Aaron Harder, second by Jennifer Fager, to delegate authority to Abby Johnson to set the final tax levy based on the results of the November 8th referendum.

Motion carried

Yes: Carolyn Barstad, Kathryn P Duax, Jennifer Fager, Chris Hambuch-Boyle, Aaron Harder, Joe Luginbill, Charles Vue

5. ADJOURN

Kathryn Duax moved, second by Charles Vue, to adjourn the special Board meeting. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Meeting adjourned at 5:26 p.m.