• (715) 852-3000

Learning Environments and Partnerships Committee (LEAP)

The Learning Environments and Partnerships Committee is a standing committee of the ECASD School Board. It was established to “…encourage innovation, which could increase our ability to provide diverse programming and methodologies.” The committee created a three step process for our teachers to have the opportunity to imagine, develop, implement, and interpret an educational program which may not be associated with conventional educational programs. Those programs become part of our District’s Innovation Zone.

LEAP Zones and Other ECASD Innovations

Memorial Documentary Theatre

Northstar ARCTIC Zone

Other ECASD Innovations


Jim Schmitt
District Office Administrator

Pete Riley
McKinley Principal

Melissa Greer
Elementary Teacher

Crystal Ruzicka
Alternate Education Instructor

Amy Al-hashlamoun

Mackenzie Gabler
Special Education Teacher

True Vang
Elementary Teacher

Breana Stanley

Christina Funk

Bradley Candell

Nichole Smith
ECASD Teacher

Amy Petersen
ECASD Special Education Assistant

LEAP Zone Proposal Process

The LEAP Zone Three Step Process consists of "fillable" forms that allow you to complete, save and email to Jim Schmitt at: jschmitt@ecasd.us.